Vasai Virar Marathon: Karan Singh wins mens full marathon

first_imgVirar (Mah), Dec 10 (PTI) Karan Singh won the mens full marathon and also registered his maiden victory in the 7th Indiabulls Home Loans Vasai Virar Mayors Marathon here in Palghar district today.24-year-old Karan from Bombay Engineering Group (BEG), Khadki, who is returning after a two-year hamstring injury lay-off, won a close race as he produced a late burst to beat back a strong challenge from another armyman Mohit Rathore of Artillery Centre, Hyderabad.Karan with a strong charge pipped Rathore at the post, to finish in first position clocking a time of 2 hours 24 minutes and 26 seconds, a media release said.Rathore (26) running his first full marathon, did well to keep pace with the champion, but in the final kilometre Karan decided to increase the pace, which the former was unable to match and finished a close behind in second place with a timing of 2:24.32 seconds.Meanwhile, defending champion, 32-year-old Rashpal Singh of Army Sports Institute, Pune, finished third with a time of 2:27.56, much lower than his personal best of 2:20.23, at the National Marathon in Delhi recently.Karan took home Rs 2.5 lakh, while Mohit received Rs 1.25 lakh and Rashpal got Rs 75,000.”I have not participated in any race for almost two years and winning here gives me a very good feeling,” Karan was quoted as saying in the release.Meanwhile, Ankit Malik (24) who was also making his debut completed a grand double for BEG by winning the mens half marathon clocking a time of 1:05.56 seconds ahead of favourite Pradeep Singh of Army Sports Institute, Pune, who clinched the silver in a time of 01:07.13 seconds.advertisementShankar Man Singh, also of ASI, completed the race 15 seconds slower to win the bronze medal.However, Indian Railways athletes completed a clean sweep in the womens half marathon with Swati Gadhave successfully defending her crown by clocking a time of 1:18.26 seconds.First-timer Chinta Yadav picked the silver in 01:19.07 seconds ahead of bronze medal winning Monika Raut in 1:20.23 seconds.Both Malik and Gadhave became richer by Rs 1.25 lakhs each.The marathon was recognised by the Athletic Federation of India (AFI).Results:Mens full marathon: 1. Karan Singh (BEG, Khadki) ? 02:24.26secs, 2. Mohit Rathore (Artillery Centre, Hyderabad) – 02:24.32secs; 3. Rashpal Singh (ASI, Pune) ? 02: 27.56secs.Men?s half marathon: 1. Ankit Malik (BEG) ? 01:05.56secs, 2. Pradeep Singh (ASI, Pune) ? 01:07.13secs, 3. Shankar Man Singh (ASI) ? 01:07.28secs.Women?s half marathon: 1. Swati Gadhave (Railways) ? 01:18.26secs, 2. Chinta Yadav (Railways) ? 01:19.07secs, 3. Monika Raut (Railways) ? 01:20. 23secs. PTI NRB NSK SDMlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *